This is an email address that is being displayed as an image to thwart spam programs.

Events

Contact:

Roger or Margaret Higbee at
724-354-3493
bcoriole@windstream.net.

December 2019 Meeting

Tue, December 3, 2019, 7:00 pm
Blue Spruce County Park Lodge
Speaker: John Taylor, jftaylor at iup dot edu

Description

This is our annual cookie extravaganza. If possible, please bring two dozen cookies to share.

John Taylor will present "The Final Push Toward a 'Classic 600'" at our December meeting. When the Taylor brothers started watching birds half a century ago, truly elite birders in North America were members of the "600 club" whose life lists included 600 or more of the roughly 700 species of birds that were included in field guides at that time. Come and enjoy (or endure, survive, whatever) John Taylor’s celebratory presentation upon reaching that lifetime goal on a recent birding adventure to the West Coast with younger brother Wil and, albeit briefly, older brother Joe. In addition to the misadventures of their California trip this past September, the talk will include some highlights of earlier trips to other premier birding destinations such as Texas, Florida, and Alaska that set the stage for this year’s trip to put him over the top. Besides the extraordinary beauty of the birds and birding localities, there will be plenty of amusing (or bizarre, disturbing, whatever) anecdotes to acknowledge the substantial contributions of other birders (including many Todd Bird Club members past and present) to his success in reaching his goal.

John Taylor, a native of Indiana, Pennsylvania, had the extraordinary good fortune to return home to western Pennsylvania in 1982 after his graduate work at the University of Missouri. He spent a third of a century as a professor in the Geoscience Department at Indiana University of Pennsylvania. His research projects on rocks and fossils of Cambrian and Ordovician age over the past four decades involved extensive travel throughout the US and Canada. These projects also provided many opportunities for "collateral birding," as he will explain in his presentation. He will, of course, also point out the geologic significance of many of the birding localities visited. Don't miss this one as John's programs are not only educational but entertaining as well.

Elegant Trogon, Madera Canyon, AZ 6/27/2019, Marg Higbee

Upcoming Events

Tuesday Yellow Creek Outing

  • Tue, January 28, 8:00 am
  • Yellow Creek State Park Office

Tuesday Yellow Creek Outing

  • Tue, February 4, 8:00 am
  • Yellow Creek State Park Office

February 2020 Meeting

  • Tue, February 4, 7:00 pm
  • Blue Spruce County Park Lodge

Tuesday Yellow Creek Outing

  • Tue, February 11, 8:00 am
  • Yellow Creek State Park Office

Yellow Creek Outing, North Shore

  • Sat, February 15, 8:00 am
  • Yellow Creek State Park, North Shore Parking Lot

Tuesday Yellow Creek Outing

  • Tue, February 18, 8:00 am
  • Yellow Creek State Park Office

Tuesday Yellow Creek Outing

  • Tue, February 25, 8:00 am
  • Yellow Creek State Park Office

Tuesday Yellow Creek Outing

  • Tue, March 3, 8:00 am
  • Yellow Creek State Park Office

March 2020 Meeting

  • Tue, March 3, 7:00 pm
  • Blue Spruce County Park Lodge

Coastal New Jersey Outing

  • Mon, March 9, 12:01 am
  • Barnegat Light, Forsythe National Wildlife Refuge, Cape May, and possibly Sandy Hook

Tuesday Yellow Creek Outing

  • Tue, March 10, 8:00 am
  • Yellow Creek State Park Office

Yellow Creek Outing

  • Sat, March 14, 8:00 am
  • Yellow Creek State Park Office

Tuesday Yellow Creek Outing

  • Tue, March 17, 8:00 am
  • Yellow Creek State Park Office

Blue Spruce Park Outing

  • Sat, March 21, 8:00 am
  • Blue Spruce Park Office

Tuesday Yellow Creek Outing

  • Tue, March 24, 8:00 am
  • Yellow Creek State Park Office

Yellow Creek Outing

  • Sat, March 28, 8:00 am
  • Yellow Creek State Park Office

Tuesday Yellow Creek Outing

  • Tue, March 31, 8:00 am
  • Yellow Creek State Park Office

Yellow Creek Outing

  • Sat, April 4, 8:00 am
  • Yellow Creek State Park Office

Tuesday Yellow Creek Outing

  • Tue, April 7, 8:00 am
  • Yellow Creek State Park Office

Ghost Town Trail

  • Sat, April 11, 8:00 am
  • Dilltown Parking Lot

Tuesday Yellow Creek Outing

  • Tue, April 14, 8:00 am
  • Yellow Creek State Park Office

Yellow Creek Outing

  • Sat, April 18, 8:00 am
  • Yellow Creek State Park Office

Tuesday Yellow Creek Outing

  • Tue, April 21, 8:00 am
  • Yellow Creek State Park Office

Tuesday Yellow Creek Outing

  • Tue, April 28, 8:00 am
  • Yellow Creek State Park Office

Tuesday Yellow Creek Outing

  • Tue, May 5, 8:00 am
  • Yellow Creek State Park Office

Tuesday Yellow Creek Outing

  • Tue, May 12, 8:00 am
  • Yellow Creek State Park Office

Tuesday Yellow Creek Outing

  • Tue, May 19, 8:00 am
  • Yellow Creek State Park Office

Tuesday Yellow Creek Outing

  • Tue, May 26, 8:00 am
  • Yellow Creek State Park Office